The Only Album Bringing Tears to My Eyes

22, A Million: the raw, experimental magnus opus of Bon Iver.

Adam
3 min readAug 9, 2023

I have always struggled to explain why this album has made such a life-affirming impression on me. I believe the easiest way to put it is that the album makes me long for a place I’ve never been in a time that has never existed. “22, A Million” is not just music, but an experience; an experience that shook me to my core.

…the album makes me long for a place I’ve never been in a time that has never existed.

Am I the only one who is tired of pop clichés and commercial lyrics? I almost don’t want to turn on my radio anymore, fearing that I’ll come across one soulless song after another. It’s precisely for this reason that my love for this album has only grown stronger over time.

Everything from the experimental production, Justin Vernon’s haunting vocals and the album’s poetic and abstract lyrics touching on universal feelings of longing, confusion, and the search for meaning makes this album an instant classic for me.

Album Cover

Stand Out Moments

--

--

Adam

Just a young man from Denmark sharing some perspectives. Follow along!