3 Lessons Learned in the Danish Royal Guard

Never have I struggled so much; never have I learned so much.

Adam
3 min readAug 5, 2023
A picture of me on duty in front of Amalienborg Palace; the residency of Queen Magrethe II.

(A picture of me on duty in front of Amalienborg Palace; the residency of Queen Magrethe II.)

1. Good people first become measurable when shit hits the fan

It’s incredibly easy to be a good person when life gives you headwinds and all your needs are met.

This is often the reality for young people in a well-oiled country like Denmark — at least relative to much of the rest of the globe. It’s only when life doesn’t smile upon you that you truly have the opportunity to show the world and your fellow human beings that you’re capable of setting aside your own needs for the sake of the community.

This became particularly clear to me during my time as a part of the Danish Royal Guard, where we were often thrown into deep waters and worn down.

Quickly, it became evident which individuals were the quickest to secure the best night shifts, carried the fewest kilos, and had the worst attitude.

I am incredibly grateful for that experience.

Try to see it as a blessing the next time a community you are a part of goes through tough times; you finally get a real…

--

--

Adam

Just a young man from Denmark sharing some perspectives. Follow along!